Magento Business Intelligence Help Center

Adding/managing users and user permissions

BROUGHT TO YOU BY

Avatar

Hey! You need Admin permissions to do this.

Magento BI is intended to be a single source of truth across your organization. Each user will have their own set of dashboards which they can share with other users. In this article, we'll cover:

What are the permission settings?

Along with dashboard autonomy, each user will also have a set of permissions assigned to them when their account is created. These permissions enable users to perform certain actions or access specific parts of Magento BI.

In Magento BI, there are three general permission levels that apply to users, which are selected when an account is created: Admin, Standard, and Read Only. Here's a breakdown of what each permission level can do in Magento BI:

  Admin Standard Read Only
Create/manage users    
Create email summaries  
Create/edit/share dashboards  
View dashboards
Create/edit/delete charts ⬤*  
Clone dashboards    
Add/manage integrations    
Access the Data Warehouse Manager    
Sync/unsync tables and columns    
Create/edit metrics    
Create/edit filter sets    
Create/edit calculated columns    
Create list of dependent charts    
Access System Summary    
Access Timezone settings    
Access Billing ⬤**  
Contact Support

*You can limit a Standard user's access to specific metrics. After creating the user's account, follow these steps to put access restrictions in place.

**Standard users can access Billing with an additional permission setting.

Note that Read Only users can only view dashboards that have been shared with them: they can't create or edit anything in Magento BI, nor can they for and add new dashboards to their account. We recommend that you share a specific set of dashboards with Read Only users that you or another member of your team maintains. Don't clone a set of dashboards for them.

Additional permissions: Billing and Technical

In addition to the general permission levels, two other user designations also exist - Billing and Technical. These designations are intended to be used in conjunction with the general permission levels.

Billing

Billing users have access to the billing page and can change payment information. Additionally, they may also be contacted by our teams for billing questions.

Admin users have access to the Billing tab by default, but Standard users can also gain access if they have the 'Billing' checkbox selected on their profile.

Technical

Technical users don't have any permissions specific to them - this setting just marks a technical contact within your organization. These users may be contacted by our teams for technical questions.

Adding a new user

Important! The new user will not have any dashboards by default. We recommend that you share the necessary dashboards with the new user right away. 

  1. Click on your company's name in the upper-right-hand corner and select Add User from the drop-down. 
  2. Enter the user’s name and email.
  3. Set the user's general permission level: Admin, Standard, or Read Only.
  4. Indicate if this new user should also be accountable for billing or technical issues by checking the appropriate boxes.
  5. Click the Save button.
  6. The new user will receive an email with login and password details.

Need to resend the invitation?

On the login page, simply click the Forgot? link, enter the new user's email address, and click the Reset Password button. This will send the invitation again and allow the user to log in.

Reactivating a deleted user

Accidentally delete a user or do you need the dashboards of a user that you already deleted?

Don't panic! You can reactivate the user by creating a new user with the same email address. They'll get an email to create a new password and their dashboards and settings will be restored upon login.

If you only need the dashboards from that user pushed into a different user's account, do the following:

  1. Use the deleted user's email address to create a new Magento BI user.
  2. Notify us at support@rjmetrics.com after you create the user. We'll transfer the dashboards into your account.
  3. After we've notified you of the transfer, you can delete the user again.

Related:

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

Powered by Zendesk