Magento Business Intelligence Help Center

Decluttering your Magento BI account

BROUGHT TO YOU BY

Avatar

Whether you’ve been with Magento BI for 6 months or 6 years, maintaining a tidy account is paramount to your organization getting the most out of the platform. Over time, it’s natural for there to be users, dashboards, reports, metrics, and columns that are no longer needed. Perhaps you created a report for one-time use and forgot about it, or a user who left your company never had his or her account deactivated.

In conjunction with standardized, clear naming for all elements of your Magento BI account, the account audit steps below will help you reduce the clutter and unnecessary analyses for your users. One additional benefit includes potentially faster update cycles!

Step 1: Identify your non-active users

The first step in cleaning up your account is to deactivate the accounts of your non-active users, such as people who have left the company or no longer use Magento BI in their current roles.

You can do this by clicking your company's name in the top-right corner of the top navigation bar, then selecting Manage Users. Next, select the user you want to deactivate, and click the Deactivate User button. Note that you need Admin permissions to do this.

Please note that deactivating a user will also remove the charts, dashboards, and other assets created by that user. If you want to preserve these assets, please reach out to our support team before deactivating the user. We can help you transfer these to another user.

What if I lose data or the person needs access again?

You can simply re-invite the user by recreating their account with the same email address that was deactivated, and their access will be restored upon login.

Step 2: Delete unused dashboards and reports

The next step in auditing your account is to delete any unused dashboards and reports. Note that only Admin and Standard users can perform these actions.

Every user with Admin or Standard access can create reports and dashboards. For that reason, everyone with these permissions must follow the steps below to identify and remove unused reports.

Review your dashboards and reports

Before you delete anything, you should review your reports and dashboards to assess what’s currently in use. While we cover the 'find unused reports' feature in this section, this step will make your cleanup efforts much more productive.

Deleting dashboards and reports

After you've figured out what can stay and what can go, you can move onto ridding your account of the clutter.

To remove a report from a dashboard:

  1. Locate the report you want to remove on the dashboard.
  2. Select the Options button in the top-right corner of the report.
  3. Click Remove From Dashboard.

To delete an entire dashboard:

  1. Select Manage Data, then Dashboards.
  2. Click on the dashboard you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete Dashboard.

You can also select Dashboard Options, then Delete from the dashboard itself.

Note that deleting a dashboard doesn’t delete the reports within it, so you’ll have to take one more step to delete the reports.

To delete unused reports:

  1. Go to Manage Data and select Reports.
  2. Check the Only show unused reports box located beneath the metrics list. This will create a list of reports that are not used in a dashboard or email summary.
  3. Select the reports you want to delete. You can select all by clicking the checkbox above the report list.
  4. Click the Delete Selected button.

Here’s a look at the unused report deletion process:

Finding unused reports.
Click for a closer look!

Step 3: Delete unused metrics

After you’ve cleaned up your users list, dashboards, and reports, you can move onto combing through your list of metrics. This will help you identify anything that might be outdated - for example, a new metric was created with a different definition - or not in use.

  1. To generate a list of dependent reports for a metric, go to Manage Data, then select Metrics.
  2. Click the Edit link next to a metric.
  3. At the bottom of the page, you’ll see a section called Dependent Charts. Click the link to generate a dependent reports list for this metric.
  4. After the system completes the check, a list of dashboards, reports, and users utilizing this metric will display.
Metric dependencies.
Click for a closer look!

Decided that the metric is no longer needed? Navigate back to the Metrics page (click the Back to Metric List link at the top of the page) and find the metric you want to delete. Click Delete.

Step 4: Assess your synced columns

The last step is to assess the columns currently being synced in your data warehouse. Not only can unsyncing columns declutter your account, it can also potentially reduce your update time.

If you’d like to pursue this, please reach out to our support team. We’ll create a report that includes all columns that are not being used in any dashboard for any user and that aren't used in email summaries (this excludes SQL Reports). You can then use this report as a guide for selecting columns to unsync via the Data Warehouse Manager.

Note that you can always start syncing these columns again in the future! Unsyncing a column won’t remove any data from your data warehouse; it only means this column won’t be checked for new or updated values during the update cycle.

To unsync a column (or columns):

  1. Go to Manage Data, then Data Warehouse.
  2. In the Synced Tables list, navigate to the table that contains the column.
  3. Check the box(es) next to the column(s) you want to unsync. Note that you can’t unsync a Primary Key column without dropping the entire table.
  4. Click Remove to unsync the column(s).

Here’s a look at the whole process:

Unsyncing an unused column.
Click for a closer look!

Wrapping up

That’s it! Your Magento BI account should now be tidier and easier to navigate for you and your team. We recommend referring to the rest of the content in the Magento BI best practices section to keep things from getting too cluttered in the future.

Additionally, if you’re interested in further optimizing your account, you can check out the articles in the Optimizing your update time and database section.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

Powered by Zendesk